It’s okay not to be okay.

We live in a world full of pressures. Money, demands at work, time (probably due to demands at work), the pressure to look your best, and to act your best- or else be told to ‘cheer up’ or ‘give us a smile’.

This can often be overwhelming, especially when a number of unexpected trials show their face at once, making it difficult to prioritise your efforts. This can lead to well established coping strategies failing, which may instigate feelings of sinking, drowning or failing. 

I’ve experienced this lately, and recognised my downward spiral. I reached up my hand as I felt myself sinking and asked for help. My GP helped me, my family helped me, in dark times The Samaritans have helped me. None of these people have made me feel like a failure- I realise I was the main reason for feeling that way. I am quick to tell myself I’m worthless, failing and that everyone else has it together and is therefore better than me. 

But none of those supporters said that. 

They asked me if I was okay, and I told them I wasn’t. They asked what they could do to help, and all of the support mentioned above had different ways they could help, which made everything a little easier.
It’s okay to admit your struggles. It’s okay to ask for help. It’s okay for the pressures around you to get too much to cope with, without additional support. 

It’s okay not to be okay. 

Have something on your mind? Let F&C know!

